I


by K.G.Satyamurthy (Sivasagar)
I am sleeping peacefully
in a sinking boat,
I will throw a net
and catch a dream-fish.
I am a long distance traveller
on hot desert sands,
I will kiss
the dates-like the beauty of  oasis.

I am the moonlight
in Guja-raatri*,
the last breath
in the ruins of the destroyed Babri masjid,
I am the beheaded stalk of grass
in Kargil.

I am sleeping peacefully
in a sinking boat,
I will throw a net
and catch a dream-fish;
I am the unheard
moment of silence on 9/11,
I am the Hurricane Isabel
which drowned
America,
I am the gathering wind of resistance
on the Cancun coast,
I am the fragrance
of the waves of tears welling up in the Tigris' eyes.

I am fire, water,
I am one soldier,
among the lakhs,
fighting in the battlefield.
I am the soldier!
I am the battlefield too!

I am sleeping peacefully
in a sinking boat,
I will throw a net
and catch a dream-fish.

I am sitting
beside the grave, laughing,
I will play on my heartstrings,
the melody of life.
*Guja-raatri: a reference to the Gujarat carnage of 2002.
Naren Bedide's translation of the Telugu poem 'nEnu' (from the collection of poetry 'Sivasagar kavitvam') by 
K.G. Satyamurthy (Sivasagar). The original translation appeared in The Shared Mirror on May 14, 2012. It can 
be accessed here
Leave a Reply

